Is It My Imagination, Or…

Lately I’ve been seeing more people at Mass. More teens. Is it just my imagination? Have you noticed this too? I don’t know if it’s just a local phenomenon or what.

I can think of a few possible explanations for this increase in attendance.

My less interesting theories:

1) The college students are home.

2) With the school year wrapping up, people aren’t as “busy,” which is apparently a common excuse for not going to Mass.

My more interesting theories:

1) Pope Francis is super cool and this inspires people to go to Mass.

2) Or maybe….my generation loves Catholicism!

But seriously! There was a least one teen in every couple of rows of pews today at Vigil Mass! Yesssssss! This is a great sign!

Is my generation more passionate about being Catholic than the Vatican II generation? That would probably be a very good thing. As I understand it, a lot of people who grew up during Vatican II were somewhat discouraged by all the things changing in the Catholic Church.

Over the 2000 year history (oh, no big deal that we’ve been around THAT long, right?) of the Church, there have been highs and lows in Catholic vigor. To my generation: let’s bring Catholicism alive in our time!!!!! 😉

2 thoughts on “Is It My Imagination, Or…

  1. I think older teens are more interested in our faith than “tweens.” I went to the Steubenville conference, and kids my age (14) weren’t as inspired by it all.

    • Interesting observation! I agree. I think a lot of (but certainly not all) younger teens tend to be in a sort of self-conscious stage that makes them embarrassed about their faith.

Leave a Reply

