The Catholic Girl’s Guide to Prom

Lat weekend I went to prom, and it was super fun! I did not have a date; I went with a group of girls. Here are my tips on how to have fun at prom but still keep up your Catholic values!

Buying Your Dress: I was STUNNED by how many inappropriate dresses there are in stores. I think the biggest problem is how low cut most of them are. I didn’t want to have cleavage showing because a) it’s immodest, and b) I wouldn’t be able to comfortably dance. I ended up finding a dress that was higher than most, but I put a white cami on under so that I’d be more comfortable. Don’t be afraid to layer up!

Picking the People You Go With: I went with a group of really nice girls. They are all similar minded to me. No one wanted to dance inappropriately, no one wanted to drink, no one was dressed inappropriately. If you go with a boy, make sure he’s trustworthy.

Dancing: Grinding is icky. If you stay on the perimeter of the dance floor, there seems to be less of it going on.

After the Prom: Don’t let anyone make you feel pressured to do things you don’t want to do. You know what I mean.

Time to go have some good, clean fun!!

PS This has nothing to do with values, but remember never to drink from a cup you’ve left unattended! (People can slip drugs in there.)

Leave a Reply

